A Dakota’s Rivets

It all goes back to childhood memories. Grown men buying sailboats, old-timer cars, and old bi-planes. Guided and inspired by adventure books they read when they were boys. My preferred literature was definitely exploration, with pirates a close second. Well-read was a book about an uncle with many cousins. He owned several DC3s and traveled throughout Africa taking his kin for rides. Rich adventure… and of course I saw myself as the pilot.

My first actual flight was as a passenger in a DC3, fourth class. I believe it was the late 1950s. My Dad dropped me off at the Dakota’s foldout stairs, made sure it took off, and then boarded a Constellation to New York. I overlooked the wing of the DC3 during flight and remember praying the rivets would hold till London.

Below is the newest of the Authentic Models metal planes, The Dakota DC3. This item will be released in early 2011.

Dakota DC3

The DC3, legendary workhorse of the skies during the 1930-50s.

~ by authenticmodels on December 29, 2010.

One Response to “A Dakota’s Rivets”

  1. Nice plane!

Leave a Reply

 
